UN Environment - Caribbean Regional Coordinating Unit

The Caribbean Regional Co-ordinating Unit (CAR/RCU) located in Kingston, Jamaica is the Secretariat for the Caribbean Environment Programme and Cartagena Convention and its Protocols.

Our responsibilities include to:

  • Provide technical assistance to all countries of the Wider Caribbean region
  • Strengthen national, subregional and regional institutions
  • Co-ordinate regional and international technical and financial assistance
  • Promote technical co-operation among countries and partner agencies


CEP Diagram.png

The Caribbean Environment Programme is a one of UN Environment's Regional Seas Programme.  We are therefore adminstered by UN Environment Headquarters in Nairobi.

Governments of the Wider Caribbean Region voluntarily contribute to a Caribbean Trust Fund for the operations of the Secretariat.  Our biennual work plans and budgets are approved by member Governments of the Wider Caribbean Region.

Contracting Parties may also use Regional Activity Centres (RACs) for the coordination and implementation of activities and Regional Activity Networks (RANs) for the provision of technical expertise.


We assist in the collection, review and dissemination of studies, publications and the results of projects and activities carried by the Caribbean Environment Programme.  These are implemented through national and technical focal points, bodies of experts, scientific and academic institutions, regional and sub-regional institutions, and individual consultants.

CAR/RCU also organizes meetings of experts, and Intergovernmental meetings of the Cartagena Convention and its Protocols.  This includes the preparation of the meeting documents including draft agreements, technical and administrative reports and biennial workplans and budgets.


We can be contacted  at:

14-20 Port Royal Street

Kingston, JAMAICA

Tel.: (876) 922-9267-9

Fax: (876) 922-9292

E-mail: rcu@cep.unep.org

 

Our Opening hours are Monday - Thursday, 8:30am - 5:00pm Jamaica Time (Eastern Time) and 8:30am - 3:00pm on Fridays.

 

Our Secretariat and Project Staff: 

Integrating Water, Land and Ecosystem Management in Caribbean Small Island Developing States - GEF IWEcoÈ

NamePositionemail address 

Executive Office

Ms. Lorna Inniss

Mrs. Coral Fernandez

Coordinator

Senior Secretary

lorna.inniss@un.org

coral.fernandez@un.org

Pollution (AMEP)

Mr. Christopher Corbin

Ms. Sancha Foreman

Programme Officer

Programme Assistant

christopher.corbin@un.org

sancha.foreman@un.org

Marine Biodiversity (SPAW)

Ms. Ileana Lopez

Ms. Jodi Johnson

Programme Officer

Programme Assistant

ileana.lopez@un.org

jodi.johnson@un.org

Communications (CETA)

Mr. Christopher Corbin

Vacant

Mr. Sean Chedda

Officer in Charge

Team Assistant

Computer Information Assistant

christopher.corbin@un.org

sean.chedda@un.org

Administration

Mrs. Clementiene Pinder

Vacant

Mr. Victor Campbell

Ms. Tracey Tucker

Mr. Tito Cover

Vacant

Fund Management Officer (FMO)

Administrative Assistant- Personnel

Administrative Finance Assistant

Secretary - FMO

Clerk/Driver

Administrative Finance Assistant

pinderc@un.org

victor.campbell@un.org

tracey.tucker@un.org

tito.cover@un.org

Integrating Water, Land and Ecosystem Management in Caribbean Small Island Developing States (GEF IWEco)

Mr. Jan Betlem

Ms. Shamene Parker

Ms. Donna Henry-Hernandez

Mrs. Donna Sue Spencer

Ms. Nicole Caesar

Project Coordinator

Programme Assistant

Programme Assistant

Communications Specialist

Programme Management Officer

jan.betlem@un.org

shamene.parker@un.org

donna.hernandez@un.org

donna.spencer@un.org 

nicole.caesar@un.org